Magical Words

I am currently reading Elizabeth Gilbert’s latest book ‘Big Magic’. And what a book it is! In one week I have gone from a long-term wannabe writer to actually writing. I have begun this blog – so what if it’s only for my eyes while I get going?! I have signed up today for Naniwrimo, something I’ve been wanting to do for 3-4 years! In preparation for Naniwrimo I’ve begun reading ‘Writing the Breakout Novel’ by Donald Maass, a book I have owned for about 6 months and which was on my wish list for about 3 years before that.

Elizabeth writes about Courage, Enchantment, Permission, Persistence, Trust and Divinity. In reading through the first four so far I have found that Elizabeth is systematically dismantling all the excuses I’ve been fooling myself with for years.

I’ve been afraid. I’ve allowed the fear of not being good enough to hold me back from working towards a dream I’ve held since childhood. I’ve been inspired time and time again to write. I’ve started out many times, excited, passionate and with good intentions. Elizabeth talks about that too – cycles. I now know that my fears won’t go away, but I can move past them…up to those old sticking points and beyond.

So I’m choosing to move beyond fear. I’m choosing to be afraid and write anyway. It doesn’t have to be good, I just have to write. In the writing I will get better, in the writing I will begin to believe I can and in the believing I can, I will.

Thank you, Elizabeth Gilbert, for having the courage to write through your fears. Thank you for writing about ideas and geniuses and inspiration…and for giving me the permission to write. I am very grateful for the words in Big Magic. They are magic for me.

One thought on “Magical Words

Leave a Reply

