Singing Our Own Song

20160310SingingRobin

I am sitting at my little desk with a new song in my heart. I am on an incredible journey at the moment; one of change and growth. Yes, I know I’m always writing about that(!), but this is even more so. As well as my Counselling Course and required therapy I have also signed up with an Enoughness Coach for March and April. I’m only ten days in but already I have received so much clarity and support.

In my last post I wrote about curiosity. One of the things I’ve been really noticing lately is the robins that are appearing on my nature walks. I got curious enough about this that I looked up what they might be saying to me.

He [Robin] signifies stimulation of new growth and renewal in many areas of life. He teaches that any changes can be made with joy, laughter and a song in your heart. Robin shows you how to ride the winds of passion within your heart and become independent and self reliant through this change. Robin will teach you how to move forward with grace, tenacity, perseverance and assertion. Are you letting go of personal dramas? Ones that no longer serve your higher purpose? Are you exercising compassion and patience in mental, spiritual and emotional areas? Robin will teach how to incorporate new beginnings with faith and trust in the process. It is time to believe in yourself and use the inspiration that is given. Listen carefully. It is time to sing your own song for a new period in your life. Source

What does it mean to sing our own songs? This week I’m realizing I’ve never before truly prioritized getting to know myself. And now that I know I can I’m craving lots of time to do so! I’m talking walks, journaling and digging deep. I’m realizing that it’s okay not to devote 100% of my time to my family, which to me has meant being on-call 24/7 if I’m home. I’ve had fears around not wanting to damage my children emotionally…but now see that not being there all the time doesn’t mean I will. What interests me is that I have known this for more than a few years in my head…or I’ve known it in my heart but it hasn’t translated in how I act.

I’m learning that this is because of old stories: as a child I learned how to live life as my mother dictated, as a Christian wife I prioritized pleasing my husband, as a mum I’ve poured myself out for my children, often running on empty. Now, at nearly thirty-eight, I’m in a place to really learn what my song is and I’m looking forward to fully knowing both the words and music. This feels exciting, amazing and like treasure to be uncovered. I am moving forward in faith and trust in the process and knowing that I have great support around me. And of course not forgetting that this will be a forever process as there is always more to learn!

Have you already discovered your song or are you still singing someone else’s tune? Get curious! Do you have support? Yes? I’m so glad. No? I’m here if you want to reach out via my contact page,  I’d love to hear from you.

Blessings!

Elizabeth

4 thoughts on “Singing Our Own Song

  1. A lovely post Elizabeth! So well written and I can feel the excitement and passion in what you’re saying 🙂 It’s so great to hear you’re having such good time being with yourself and are getting better at claiming that time! Hugs and love ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

